The good faith framework: A notion with blurry outiline limitations

INTRODUCTION The purpose of the rules governing public calls for tenders is to ensure the fairness of the contract award process according to the theory of contracts A and B1. Two objectives are involved here: 1) fairness between bidders and 2) the best management of public funds by the award of contract B to the lowest compliant bidder. A more …

Loss in a Condominium: Who is to Pay for the Depreciation?

A recent decision1 regarding the application of depreciation is worth better knowing. This case especially concerns the relationship between a co-ownership syndicate, a co-owner and her liability insurer. It concerns two fundamental principles of our indemnification system in Quebec: 1) complete indemnification of the victim and 2) the unjust enrichment of the person causing the prejudice. In 2018, the rules …

Collecting sales taxes : our civil courts will not allow it

October 2023 – In Construction VX Inc. c. Lainco Inc.[1], the Superior Court of Quebec confirmed that sales taxes had to be subtracted from the amount of compensation a corporate entity or a subrogated insurer is allowed to receive. As the principle of fair compensation is deeply rooted in Quebec’s legal framework (especially when it comes to the payment of …

The Insured Is Not Always Whom You Think

March 2023 – The concept of insurable interest[1] provides an answer to the two (2) essential questions that an insurer must answer before settling a claim: 1) determining the object of the insurance coverage and 2) identifying the insured. The answers to these two (2) questions do not always automatically come to light but are intimately linked together to the …

Corroded flexible pipe: who is responsible?
Finally, a clear answer to this question!

February 2023 – Case law Summary – The case La Capitale assurances générales inc. v. Construction Mckinley inc., Société d’assurance générale Northbridge, Céramique Décor M.S.F. inc., Lisa Duval et Reckitt Benckiser (Canada) inc., 200-17-030650-204 On February 14, 2023, the Superior Court, written by the Honorable Alain Michaud, J.C.S., ruled on the issue and determined the responsibility arising from the breakage …

The Court increases the pressure on subrogatory proceedings

April 2022 – Sécurité Nationale compagnie d’assurance c. Bel Bro inc., 2022 QCCS 723 (Granosik, j.) The Superior Court of Québec was asked to rule upon the validity of the subrogatory proceedings an insurer filed against a third party following the payment of insurance proceeds to insured parties (in the context of an out-of-court settlement involving the latter and the insurer), whereas …

An In-depth Investigation is Required Before Denying Coverage!

Fall 2021 – All contracts are governed by a requirement of good faith. An insurance policy is particular as its content and implementation must be based on increased mutual confidence between an insurer and the insured. Because of its particular nature, case law has imposed an additional rule on the parties, that is, the requirement of performing their obligations with …

The Court of Appeal of Saskatchewan rules: a liability insurer must indemnify before a worksite insurer

Spring 2021 – A construction contract usually contains a clause by which the owner and the general contractor both take out insurance covering their insurable interest in a construction project. Accordingly, several types of insurance policies are issued, all providing for varying scopes and coverages. This situation gives rise to the following question: “may the terms of a construction contract …

An Insured’s Omission to Cooperate is Penalized

Mai 2016 — “An insured’s omission to cooperate, which is specified in article 2471 C.C.Q. is rarely penalized. A recent judgment of the Court of Appeal in Intact Insurance Inc. v. 9221-2133 Quebec Inc. (Centre Mécatech) confirmed an insurer’s latitude in its power of investigation and called insured parties to order when dealing with their duty to cooperate.” An insured’s …

Reserve Letter

Juillet 2015 — «“In the current context in which insurers are increasingly requested to assume the defence of their insured, in comparison with past practice, it is essential that their position be rapidly disclosed to their insured and be clearly stated…”» In the current context in which insurers are increasingly requested to assume the defence of their insured, in comparison …

Le cadre de la bonne foi, cette notion aux contours fuyants

Introduction Les règles régissant un appel d’offres public visent à assurer l’équité du processus d’octroi des contrats selon la théorie des contrats A et B[1]. Deux objectifs sont visés : 1) l’équité entre les soumissionnaires et 2) la meilleure gestion des deniers publics par l’octroi du contrat B au plus bas soumissionnaire conforme. Lié au principe d’équité se retrouve celui, plus …

Sinistre dans un condominium : Qui doit payer pour la dépréciation?

Une décision récente[1] concernant l’application de la dépréciation mériterait d’être mieux connue. Cette affaire est particulière à la relation entre un syndicat de copropriété, un copropriétaire et l’assureur de ce dernier.  Elle met en jeu deux principes fondamentaux de notre régime indemnitaire au Québec : 1) la réparation intégrale de la victime et 2) l’enrichissement injustifié de l’auteur du préjudice. En 2018, les …

L’octroi du montant des taxes : les tribunaux ferment la porte

Octobre 2023 – Une décision récente de la Cour supérieure du Québec [1] clôt la question de la soustraction des taxes sur le montant total de l’indemnisation remboursable à la personne morale assurée. Le même calcul s’applique pour le recours subrogatoire. Au cœur du droit québécois de la réparation d’un préjudice, il y a le principe fondamental de la juste indemnisation. C’est …

L’assuré n’est pas toujours celui que l’on croit

Mars 2023 – La notion de l’intérêt assurable[1] apporte une réponse aux deux (2) questions essentielles que se posent l’assureur au moment de régler une réclamation : 1) déterminer l’objet de la couverture d’assurance et 2) identifier l’assuré. Les réponses à ces deux (2) questions ne coulent pas toujours de source et sont intimement liées, à tel point qu’elles sont souvent …

Conduite flexible corrodée: qui est responsable? Enfin une réponse claire à cette question!

Février 2023 – Jurisprudence résumée – L’affaire La Capitale assurances générales inc. c. Construction Mckinley inc., Société d’assurance générale Northbridge, Céramique Décor M.S.F. inc., Lisa Duval et Reckitt Benckiser (Canada) inc., 200-17-030650-204 Le 14 février 2023, la Cour supérieure, sous la plume de l’honorable Alain Michaud, j.c.s., s’est prononcée sur la question en tranchant la responsabilité découlant du bris d’une …

La Cour serre la vis au droit subrogatoire

Avril 2022 – Sécurité Nationale compagnie d’assurance c. Bel Bro inc., 2022 QCCS 723 (Granosik, j.) La Cour supérieure devait évaluer la validité d’un recours subrogatoire intenté par un assureur à l’encontre d’un tiers, suivant le paiement d’une indemnité à ses assurés dans la cadre d’un règlement à l’amiable intervenu entre l’assureur et ses assurés, alors que la police d’assurance contenait des …

Avant de nier couverture, une enquête approfondie s’impose!

Octobre 2021 – Tout contrat est régi par une obligation de bonne foi. Le contrat d’assurance est particulier en ce que son élaboration et sa mise en œuvre doivent nécessairement être basées sur une confiance mutuelle accrue entre l’assureur et l’assuré. Vu son caractère singulier, la jurisprudence accole aux parties une règle supplémentaire, soit celle d’exécuter leurs obligations avec « la …

L’assureur responsabilité indemnise avant l’assureur-chantier : la Cour d’appel de la Saskatchewan se prononce

Printemps 2021 – Un contrat de construction contient habituellement une clause par laquelle le donneur d’ouvrage et l’entrepreneur doivent chacun souscrire à une assurance couvrant leur intérêt assurable dans le projet de construction. Interviennent alors plusieurs contrats d’assurance, dont la nature, l’objet et l’étendue des couvertures peuvent différer. Cette situation permet ainsi de poser la question : « Peut-on puiser dans les …

Le défaut de collaborer de l’assuré sanctionné

Mai 2016 — «Le défaut de collaboration de l’assuré, prévu à l’article 2471 C.c.Q. est rarement sanctionné. Une décision récente rendue par la Cour d’appel dans l’affaire Intact Assurance inc. c. 9221-2133 Québec inc. (Centre Mécatech) confirme la latitude de l’assureur dans son pouvoir d’enquête et rappelle à l’ordre l’assuré lorsqu’il est question de son devoir de collaboration.» Le défaut …

La lettre de réserve

Juillet 2015 — «Dans le contexte actuel où l’assureur est davantage sollicité afin d’assumer la défense de son assuré que par le passé, il devient primordial que sa position soit rapidement communiquée à son assuré et clairement énoncée…» Dans le contexte actuel où l’assureur est davantage sollicité afin d’assumer la défense de son assuré que par le passé, il devient …